Feminist Hawks Unite!

www.mamapalooza.com

Chesler Chronicles

August 24th, 2009 4:00 pm By Phyllis Chesler

Look, who am I to complain? I’ve published thirteen books and thousands of articles. My first book, Women and Madness, which came out in 1972, sold nearly three million copies. In the last forty years, my work has been reviewed and I’ve been interviewed coast to coast on every continent, yes, even in the London Times, the London Guardian, Le Monde, La Stampa, Il Foglio, Spiegel, Politiken, Il Globo, etc. and of course, in the Philadelphia Inquirer, the Washington Post, the Minneapolis Star, The San Francisco Examiner, the Los Angeles Times and the New York Times.

A complete unknown, I’m not.

Indeed, the Gray Lady is my hometown newspaper. Beginning in 1972, they started reviewing my every book, (twice on the front page of their Book Review), and they started interviewing me. Not all the reviews were gushing but when the review was “mixed,” countless letters appeared, (written both by me and by others), and I was invariably interviewed or asked to submit a piece on the subject.

Once, in 1986, I co-ordinated a conference in New York City about women and custody that their reporter covered in two separate articles. So–how can I complain? I’ve also published numerous op-ed articles and letters in the New York Times; my goddam photo appeared in their pages in the late 1970s and again, in 1990, I appeared on the cover of their magazine. How quickly they forget.

This past Sunday, the New York Times magazine published an issue which promoted a new book by one (or two) of their own: Nicholas D. Kristof and his wife, Sheryl WuDunn. It’s title: Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity: for Women World-wide. I happen to adore Kristof’s work. True, he is standing on the shoulders of all my compatriot Second Wave feminists–but that’s precisely what he’s supposed to do. Also true: He, as well as most other journalists, rarely connect the political dots as we once did and they even more rarely intone our names. Piffle. So here’s what puzzled me. In their infinite wisdom, The Paper of Record decided that there is only one “feminist hawk” in the entire universe and his name is…David Horowitz of Frontpage magazine……more

Phyllis is an amazing woman who had done so much on behalf of feminism that I can’t think on one other single person I’d rather celebrate. As a feminist mom in the arts, I just wanna say…. ‘I love Phyllis’

~ Joy Rose for Mamapalooza

P.S. I still love Hillary too.

Leave a Reply

